New Renaissance

One woman building bridges


Photo by Daniel Watson on Pexels.com

Keep Looking in the Right Direction

Where are you looking these days?

I have a deadly magnetic attraction to my screen, phone, tablet or computer. Let’s be honest–to the news–any news. I want to know what’s going on. I want to be wise, ahead of the curve and safe.

I find this both a blessing and a curse.

If I tell myself the truth, what I’m looking for is a course of action that is of ultimate value. And rather than set my course I’m looking for someone or something to set it for me. But I get snagged by warnings, prognostications of the future, interpretations of the past , good or bad, that are figments of someone’s imagination. Oh there are facts in there all right. So many my head spins. But people are flawed. Numbers get skewed, used as tools for who knows what end? Everyone has an agenda, just like me.

There’s a focus beyond all this. And it’s a ficus that no matter how you look at current events you can adopt.

“Give thanks to the Lord for he is good; his love endures forever. ” Psalm 118:1

Really? How can this be? And like the curious scholar I am I search the Bible to find this concept repeated over and over. Many times in many places many people believed and proclaimed this. What does it mean?

I think the answer is in my magnetic attraction to my phone. I’m looking for that something–thirsty for it. It is love. Supreme love.

God’s agenda is love.

Let’s keep looking for it everywhere. For it is there as surely as the hand in front of our face. Although it is often obscured by evil, it transcends the evil, the transient, even the mundane. But my magnetic attraction to it, and yours proves that it–He, is there. What is a magnet without its object?

Keep looking.



One response to “Keep Looking in the Right Direction”

  1. Frana Hamilton Avatar
    Frana Hamilton

    You have such freedom in your writing, and I admire it. I am in sort of a strait-jacket when I write. It is the fundamentalist in me. I love the way you seem to feel free to express your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

About Me

Author of Never Say Uncle byb A dyed-in-the-wool wordsmith, anglophile, bibliophile, lover of all things literary.

Newsletter